How long does the expungement process take?
Typically, most California expungement cases take about two to four months depending on the specific court.
However, in some cases we can get a hearing date in 30 days.
How much does it cost to expunge a misdemeanor in California?
Cost to Expunge a Record. We charge $495 for misdemeanor expungement cases, plus a $150 filing and processing fee. If the misdemeanor was an alcohol related driving offense, we charge $595, plus a filing fee. Felony cases are $695, plus a $150 filing and processing fee.
What felonies Cannot be expunged in California?
A. Generally, an individual qualifies for an expungement under Penal Code 1203.4 if he or she: (1) committed a felony or misdemeanor and was not incarcerated in the California state prison, (2) fulfilled the terms of his/her probation, and (3) was not convicted of one of the specific crimes that make someone ineligible
How do I expunge my criminal record?
Part 2 Getting a Record Expunged
- Find out whether you’re eligible for an expungement. Visit your state’s courthouse or court website to find out what requirements you must fulfill.
- File a petition for expungement.
- Consider working with an attorney.It is a good idea to hire an attorney to help you navigate this process.
How can I get my record expunged in California for free?
Do-It-Yourself Expungement in California. First, you need to get a copy of your criminal record. You can get a copy of your criminal record from the superior court. Then, if you have completed your probation or were never given probation, you can apply for expungement.
Do misdemeanors go away in CA?
A misdemeanor stays on your record for life unless you successfully petition for expungement. There is no preset “expiration date” for misdemeanor crimes. Even though misdemeanor offenses are less serious than felonies, they are still serious breaches in the eyes of the law.
How can I clear a misdemeanor from my record?
There are two types of pardons: An expungement erases your entire Connecticut state criminal record. To apply, you must wait 3 years (for a misdemeanor) or 5 years (for a felony) from the disposition date.
How much does an expungement cost?
Typical costs: Hiring an attorney to handle an expungement starts around $400-$1,000 for a single criminal charge but can run $1,000-$4,000 or more depending on the number and nature (misdemeanor or felony) of the charges, prevailing local legal rates and the status and experience of the attorney.
How do you get a felony reduced to a misdemeanor in California?
Under California law, a “wobbler” is an offense that can be charged and punished as either a felony or a misdemeanor. Only felonies that are classified as wobblers may be reduced to misdemeanors. “Straight” felonies (ones which can only be prosecuted as felonies) are therefore not eligible for a misdemeanor reduction.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”