STEP 3: Get Your California Learners Permit at the DMV
- Take the DMV Form DL 44, our certificate of completion (Form OL 237), and proof that you have completed driver training or are enrolled in a driver training program, to the DMV.
- Pass a written traffic law and sign test.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay the fee.
What documents do I need to get a California driver’s license?
You will need:
- Correct fee(s) for your application.
- Original or certified documents(s) establishing identity, birth date, true full name.
- Original document establishing proof of SSN if applying for a REAL ID Compliant ID.
- Residency Document.
- Any DL or permit issued previously by any state (if applicable).
Can a 16 year old get a driver’s license in California?
16 years old: Eligible for a provisional license (with completion of driver’s education). 17 1/2 years old: Allowed to apply for a provisional permit without taking driver’s education. 18 years old and older: Allowed to apply for a driver’s license without getting a learner’s permit.
Can I apply for my drivers license online?
To save time, DMV customers can fill out the online Electronic Driver License and ID Card application before visiting a DMV field office. If you plan to apply for a driver license or ID card during your visit, you should complete this electronic application before you arrive.
Do you need a permit to get a license in California?
If you pass the permit exam and pay the $35 fee, you’ll receive your California learner’s permit. You have 12 months to complete all the required steps toward qualifying for a driver’s license once you have a permit. Even if you’re over the age of 18, you cannot drive alone with only a learner’s permit.
Do I need a California license?
If you are over 18 years old and have a valid driver’s license from another state, you may drive in California only while visiting. You are not required to have a California driver’s license: To drive snowmobiles or off-highway vehicles that are legally registered (except on a freeway).
How do I claim residency in California?
- Physical presence. You must be continuously physically present in California for more than one year (366 days) immediately prior to the residence determination date of the term for which you request resident status.
- Intent to remain in California.
- Financial independence.
- Immigration status.
Can you drive siblings with a license in California?
In California, can you legally drive siblings if you have a provisional license? With a Providional Permit in California, more commonly called a Learner’s Permt you cannot drive without a parent/guardian or a certified instructor or a licensed driver over 25 years of age.
Can you drive at 14 in California?
California is one of the states that has a GDL program for teens. Junior Permit – The Junior Permit is for California residents who are at least 14 but less than 18 years of age and can show a present hardship that requires them to drive alone.
Can you apply for a California ID online?
Gather the identity, residency, and SSN documents you need to apply for an ID card. Effective April 2018 DMV will begin offering an online DL and ID application process. Appointments can be made online at www.dmv.ca.gov or by calling 1-800-777-0133. You may also verify payment options available at the DMV office.
Photo in the article by “Flickr”