Checklist for Starting a Preschool
- Find out about licensing guidelines for preschools and small businesses.
- Write a business plan.
- Find a location.
- Get insurance.
- Prepare your facility.
- Develop policies and procedures.
- Hire staff.
- Prep your curriculum.
How much does it cost to open a preschool?
Running a preschool can cost anywhere from $4,000 to $10,000 per child, market figures show.
How do you get a preschool license in California?
California law requires most preschools to obtain licensing from the Community Care Licensing Division of the state Department of Social Services. Any program that operates outside the home and supervises children must go through licensing. The state levies fines of up to $200 for each day of unlicensed operation.
How do I open a daycare in California?
Give yourself a minimum of six months from start to finish.
- STEP 1: Go to a DSS orientation meeting.
- STEP 2: Begin your search for a site.
- STEP 3: Identify a qualified director for your program.
- STEP 4: Obtain a “Use Permit”
- STEP 5: Obtain a fire clearance.
- STEP 6: Open a file with DSS.
- STEP 7: Complete the process.
How do I attract my parents to my preschool?
How to Increase Enrollment in a Preschool or Child Care Program
- 1) Quality Staff. I asked my facebook friends to chime in about what was most important in a preschool program.
- 2) Marketing. Today’s parents want to know about a program before they step foot into it.
- 3) Discover Your Niche.
- 4) Look at the Needs of Your Community.
- 5) Daily Communication.
How much does a preschool owner make?
The average pay for a Director, Preschool is $16.44 per hour. The average pay for a Director, Preschool is $40,611 per year.
How much does insurance cost for a preschool?
Cost of Childcare Insurance. Most in-home daycare businesses can get insurance coverage for annual premiums between $250 and $500 because their primary need is general liability.
Do daycare owners make good money?
Daycare owners usually pay their salaries from their profits. They earned average annual salaries of $37,000 as of 2013, according to the job site Simply Hired.
How do I report unlicensed daycare?
To report suspected licensing violations or possible illegal child care operations, call the Child Care Complaint Hotline at 1-800-462-8261. You can also e-mail your information to the Human Services’ Webmaster.
How do you market a preschool program?
Marketing Your Child Care Program
- Ensure you have a website. Even if it’s just 4-5 pages, it’s better than nothing!
- Create a Facebook page! Make sure you link your website to the Facebook page and vice versa.
- Consider investing in some local marketing campaigns.
- Get on social media!
Photo in the article by “JPL – NASA”