Yes, you are required to pay rent during the 60-day period.
And, yes, if you do not do so, you may get a 3-day notice to pay rent or quit (quit = move out), which would start the1 Dec 2014
How do you serve a 3 day notice in California?
The three-day notice to pay rent must be written, and it must include the following information:
- date the demand was served on the tenant(s)
- name(s) and address of tenant(s)
- a statement that the tenant owes rent and must pay it within three days or the landlord will file an eviction lawsuit with the court.
What is a 60 day notice in California?
60-Day Notice. The California Lease Termination Letter (60 Days) is a notice for a residential landlord to use when he seeks to have a tenant vacate the premises after they have lived there for at least a year or more.
How do you give a 60 day notice to a tenant?
How to Write a 60 Day Notice to Vacate to Tenant
- State the Facts First. The first part of the notice must include the details of the rental agreement, even if the lease has expired.
- Provide the Notice. Discuss the fact that the notice is for at least 60 days.
- List the Rent Due.
- Discuss the Security Deposit.
- Talk About Showing the Property.
- Close Out the Letter.
7 Jun 2014
Can a landlord require 60 days notice in California?
A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days (60 days if you’ve lived in the rental a year or more) as required by California law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.
Is it legal to require a 60 day notice?
Our lease form contains a clause stating that each party must give the other a 30-day notice if the lease is not going to be renewed. However, I know that state law requires a 60-day notice if a landlord is terminating a tenancy that has lasted a year or longer.
Photo in the article by “Flickr”