The law states that a DBA California filing is required when sole proprietors, partnerships, limited liability companies, or corporations want to do business.
Registering a DBA name allows you the right to operate a business under any name other than the legal name of the company or individual.
How much does it cost to set up a DBA?
The cost to file a DBA varies based on the city or county clerk where the business operates. A business that files a DBA may expect to pay anywhere from $10 to $100, according to the Entrepreneur website. The costs to file formation documents for an LLC vary from state to state.
How do I create a DBA?
File your DBA forms.
- In most states, you only have to register your name at the county level. However, some states require you to register with the secretary of state, just as you would if you were a corporation or LLC.
- When you file your forms, you’ll have to pay a filing fee, usually between $10 and $50.
Can an LLC have a DBA in California?
There is no option to file for a DBA on the state level. Under California law, sole proprietors, partnerships, limited liability companies and corporations must file a DBA if they plan to operate under a different name.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”