Do California State Checks Expire??

Some states, like Georgia, specifically state its refund checks expire 180 days after issuance.

Technically, banks are not required to cash checks more than six months old.

Still, a bank may do so anyway if they believe the check is valid and the payer will cover it.

How long are state checks good for?

Recommended Answer. US treasury checks are good for one year. Some banks may refuse a check after 180 days. You can contact your state to see what’s the life span on their check.

How long are checks good for in California?

six months

How long does it take to get my state tax refund in California?

In California, the Franchise Tax Board advises taxpayers that it typically takes between seven and 12 business days to get a refund if you file electronically. For those who file paper returns, you’ll typically have to wait two to three months from the date you mail your return in order to receive your refund.

Do state checks expire?

State and local government checks can expire whenever state law allows. However, most banks won’t accept a cashier’s check for deposit after 90 days because the issuing bank may return the check unpaid after that time. If you have a check that’s more than 90 days old, contact the issuing bank to get a new check.

Do treasury checks expire?

Under federal law, U.S. Department of Treasury checks must be deposited or cashed within one year from the issue date. Although you cannot legally cash your expired Treasury check, you still have a right to receive the funds. Do not destroy or throw away the check.

How long before a check expires?

six months