To request a copy of a death record online: Visit www.vitalchek.com and complete the information in the request form.
You MUST submit the online authentication or a notarized Certificate of Identity.
How soon can you get a death certificate in California?
When a death occurs in Orange County, copies of the death certificate are available through the Clerk-Recorder Department 30 days after the date of death. (Copies needed within 30 days of death may be obtained through the Orange County Health Care Agency.) There are several ways to obtain copies of a death certificate.
Are death records public in California?
California birth, death, fetal death, still birth, marriage, and divorce records are maintained by the California Department of Public Health Vital Records. Services provided by Vital Records include: Issuing certified copies of California fetal death and still birth certificates.
How much does a death certificate cost in California?
Cost. The fee to search for a death certificate is $14.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate or a “Certificate of No Public Record.” Checks or money orders should be made payable to the CDHP Vital Records.
Can anyone get a death certificate in California?
HOW DO I OBTAIN A CALIFORNIA DEATH CERTIFICATE? To obtain a copy of any of a death certificate in the United States, write or go to the vital statistics office in the state or area where the event occurred. As of July 1, 2003, California State Law (SB 247) changed the process in which certified copies are issued.
Where can I get a death certificate in California?
In California, death certificates can be obtained from the California Office of Vital Records or the recorder’s office in the county in which the death occurred.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”