Window tint darkness in California
- Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
- Front Side windows: Aftermarket film must allow more than 88% of light in, or minimum 70% VLT if combined with factory-tinted windows.
- Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Can you get a ticket for tinted windows in California?
Just about every state in the union, it turns out, has laws about tinted car windows. In California, it’s illegal to tint either windshield (except for the strip at the very top), and the windows next to the driver and front-seat passenger.
How much does it cost to tint car windows in California?
A basic tint for an average-sized car using standard film may cost $99 for the entire vehicle. Using higher quality tint costs between $199 to $400 for the entire vehicle, depending on several factors, Aburumuh says. “That’s the price for heat rejecter tints,” Aburumuh says.
Are tinted windows legal in Los Angeles?
Film laid on the front two windows of your car, truck van or SUV must allow at least 70% of light to pas through the window and ANY tint darkness is allowed on the back window and two rear windows. However, as with all rules, there are exceptions to California state law when it comes to window tinting.
Why are tints illegal in California?
California law permits automobile owners to use window tint that reflects incoming light. Such tint can reduce glare and heat. However, there are restrictions on its use. For sedans, SUVs, and vans, both front side and back side windows must not be more reflective than any standard window installed on the vehicle.
Are door visors legal in California?
Are door visors legal in the state of California? California Vehicle Code section 26708 addresses obstructions to the driver’s view of the road. (a) (1) A person shall not drive any motor vehicle with any object or material placed, displayed, installed, affixed, or applied upon the windshield or side or rear windows.
Photo in the article by “Wikipedia”