The symbol on beverage containers eligible for reimbursement is “CA CRV”.
Currently, CRV is 5 cents for containers less than 24 US fluid ounces (710 ml) and 10 cents for containers 24 US fluid ounces (710 ml) or larger.
How is CRV calculated in California?
Determine the number of beverage containers you’ve purchased that are less than 24 ounces. For example, assume you purchase 100 12-ounce cans. Multiply this figure by $0.05: 100 x $0.05 = $5. This result represents the CRV tax for containers less than 24 ounces.
Is there sales tax on CRV in California?
“The charge for California Redemption Value (CRV) is not a deposit, but a fee imposed on the distributor of the beverage,” the state explains. “The fee is passed along to the retailer and to you as the consumer. Although separately stated, the fee is subject to tax as part of the taxable selling price of the beverage.”
How do I get my CRV refund?
Beverage Containers: Redeem for CRV Refund. In the State of California, consumers can redeem empty bottles and cans for cash. By law, you can bring up to 50 aluminum, 50 glass, 50 plastic and 50 bi-metal California Redemption Value (CRV) containers in a single visit and request to be paid by count.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”