Under California law, an employer cannot take any part of a tip that’s left for an employee.
However, California does not allow employers to take tip credits.
Employers must pay employees at least the California minimum wage for each hour worked, in addition to any tips they may receive.
How much should you tip at a restaurant?
Unlike restaurant workers, it is usually at least minimum wage. It’s appropriate to tip $5 per person in your party if you liked your tour.
How much tip do you leave?
These suggested tips represent their combined recommendation. 10 to 25 percent of the bill, depending on service. $1 to $2 per drink or 15 percent of the total tab. 10 to 20 of the cost of the service (even if he or she is the owner).
Is gratuity mandatory in California?
Under the California Labor Code, a gratuity is defined as money left for an employee by a customer above the actual amount due for the underlying good or service. Generally, a tip is left by a patron as a reward for good service and the amount is not regulated by the employer.
Photo in the article by “Good Free Photos”