Many unlicensed contractors are unaware that operating without a license in California is a misdemeanor that can result in jail terms of up to 6 months and fines that can run upwards of $15,000.
What is the penalty for working without a contractor’s license?
The minimum penalty for contracting without a license as a first offense is a fine of $1,000 plus an 83% surcharge. A.R.S. § 32-1164(B). In most cases, an unlicensed contractor will simply face a fine, but jail time is not out of the question if the perpetrator is a repeat offender or the facts are egregious.
Can a contractor work without a license?
How to legally work without a contractor’s license. If your trade requires a contractor license the law in California allows you to work without one if you state that you are “officially unlicensed” on the side of your truck, on your business cards and work orders.
What happens if you hire an unlicensed contractor?
You are responsible for any damages and worker injuries occurring during the project inasmuch as unlicensed contractors often lack general liability and workers’ compensation insurance. The work of an unlicensed contractor is often shoddy, requiring you to hire a licensed contractor to make the repairs.
Can unlicensed contractor sue you in California?
This means that if an unlicensed contractor tries to sue someone who hired him/her for unpaid work, no California court will enforce payment! California public policy is clear – the State does not want unlicensed contractors to be able to get paid for work that should be performed by a licensed contractor.
Can a contractor work under someone else’s license California?
But one of your licensed friends says that you can subcontract a job for him or her and just work under their license number. It’s no different than if you tried to use someone else’s driver license. In case you think we’re kidding, here’s the legal language from the state Business and Professions Code: 119.
Can you go to jail for not having a business license?
Fines And Fees. Not having a business license is illegal, but how large a legal infraction it is considered depends on the industry, location and depth of licensing requirements. The trucking company could face charges, fines and fees from not only local authorities but from state and federal entities as well.
Can I refuse to pay contractor?
Most contractors make improvements to a property and, thus, increase the value of a property before obtaining full payment for their labor. If you refuse to pay, can a contractor file a mechanic’s lien on your property and force the sale of your home? The answer is yes, but not without much effort and expense.
Can you sue a contractor without a license?
You can scream all you want for the contractor to pay to replace the damaged areas, but if he does not have liability insurance, then he has no way to cover the loss. And without a state contractor’s license, it will be hard to sue him in a court of law.
Photo in the article by “National Park Service”