2) Senate Bill 7 (by Senator Hernandez), has raised the minimum smoking age from 18 to 21 in California.
This new law applies to both traditional tobacco products as well as e-cigarettes.
18 year olds with a valid military ID will still be able to purchase tobacco products and e-cigarettes.
What states do you have to be 21 to buy cigarettes?
As of April 8, 2019, eleven states – Arkansas, California, Illinois, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Oregon, Hawaii, Maine, Utah, Washington and Virginia– have raised the tobacco sale age to 21, along with at least 450 localities, including New York City, Chicago, San Antonio, Boston, Cleveland, Minneapolis, both Kansas
Can you be 18 to buy cigarettes?
It is illegal for anyone under 18 to buy or attempt to buy any tobacco products. This is to try and reduce the number of people exposed to smoking related diseases and to bring the law in line with alcohol. It’s also illegal for anyone over 18 to buy tobacco products for people underage.
Is it legal to smoke under 18?
The minimum age was raised from 16 to 18 in 1987. It is illegal for minors to be in possession of tobacco, to smoke in public or to purchase tobacco products. It is illegal to sell or distribute tobacco to anyone under the age of 18 years. Minors may not possess or purchase or attempt to possess or purchase tobacco.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”