Property Management Companies Need Licensing.
California requires property managers to have or work under someone who holds a real estate broker’s license.
The state department of real estate requires broker-applicants to document their experience and educational training in the field and to pass a state licensing exam
What kind of education do you need to be a property manager?
While a high-school diploma can be enough for some people to hire you, more and more companies want their property managers to have a bachelor’s degree in business administration, real estate, accounting, public administration, or finance.
Do you have to have a license to be a property manager?
Most property managers are required to hold a property management license or a real estate broker’s license in order to conduct real estate transactions, which includes those related to managing and leasing rental properties. Only a couple states do not have this requirement.
How do you get your property management license?
- Register for an account in eLicense, the Agency’s online license management system.
- Apply for a property manager license and pay the $300 nonrefundable application fee in eLicense.
- Complete the 60-hour Property Manager pre-license course from an Agency-approved real estate school.
How do I become a property manager with no experience?
Steps to Become a Leasing Manager
- Step 1: Get a College Degree. Many employers seeking property leasing managers desire or require job applicants with college degrees.
- Step 2: Acquire Work Experience.
- Step 3: Obtain Licensure.
- Step 4: Consider Certification for Career Advancement.
Do I need a business license to rent my property in California?
No license is required if you own the property you can do whatever you want. Hi Homeowner/Landlord, You will want to protect yourself as a landlord, as much of rental laws are in favor of tenants/renters. Check your local city ordinances if they do require a business license to rent.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”