A: You are supposed to keep receipts of out-of-state purchases and apply your local tax rate — in California that can be 7.25% to 8.75% — to the purchase price.18 Mar 2007
Is sales tax based on ship to or bill to?
In origin-based states, sellers are required to charge sales tax at the point of origin of the sale. This is where you receive the order. If you are wondering whether to charge your buyer sales tax based on their billing or shipping address, then chances are you are dealing with a destination-based state.9 May 2016
What is the due date for sales tax return?
The annual return, Form ST-101, New York State and Local Annual Sales and Use Tax Return, covers the period March 1 through February 28/29. Since sales tax returns are generally due within 20 days after the end of the reporting period, annual returns are due by March 20 each year.7 Feb 2018
What is sales and use tax California?
California’s sales tax generally applies to retailers’ gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property in the state. The sales tax is imposed on the retailer/vendor and the use tax is imposed on the consumer.
What is California use tax rate?
Long story short, California requires that you collect from buyers the California state sales tax rate of 7.25% plus a district rate.
Is California use tax deductible?
Federal law limits your state and local tax (SALT) deduction to $10,000 if single or married filing jointly. California does not allow a deduction of state and local income taxes on your state return. California does allow deductions for your real estate tax and vehicle license fees.
Do you pay sales tax based on where you live?
Generally, if you are located in an origin-based state and make sales to customers within that state, you would charge sales tax based on your location, including any local and state taxes.
Is sales tax based on where you live?
If you live in an origin-based sales tax state, charge sales tax to same-state customers at your local area’s total combined sales tax rate. If you are considered a “remote seller” in an origin-based state, you’ll probably be required to charge sales at the total combined sales tax rate of your customer’s location.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”