Getting out of a month-to-month lease typically requires giving a 30-day written notice.
This applies to both tenants and landlords, with the exception that California law requires a landlord to give 60 days written notice if a tenant has lived in the rental unit for more than one year.
How much notice does a tenant have to give in California?
A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days (60 days if you’ve lived in the rental a year or more) as required by California law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.
How does a 30 day notice work in California?
The tenant pays rent for the entire month. California law differs because a 30-day notice is permitted any time during the month, with the final date of occupancy 30 days from the date the notice is delivered to the landlord, according to the California Department of Consumer Affairs.
Can I leave before my 30 day notice?
The law says the landlord must receive a notice that you are leaving or ending your tenancy. They have to get this notice at least 1 full rental period before you move out, which is usually 30 days. Do not be late! If you are late giving your landlord notice, they can make you pay rent for another month.
Can a landlord evict you in a month to month lease?
A landlord may evict the tenant for violating a term in a rental contract or terminate a tenancy without cause to end a lease or month-to-month tenancy. In most states, when termination is without cause, a landlord must give the tenant either a 30-day or 60-day termination notice.
How do I write a letter to my landlord moving out?
Dear (Name of landlord or manager), This letter constitutes my written (number of days’ notice that you need to give based on your lease agreement) -day notice that I will be moving out of my apartment on (date), the end of my current lease. I am leaving because (new job, rent increase, etc.
Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons”