Question: What Are The Requirements For GED In California??

The GED test is for adults who do not have a high school diploma.

Those who pass the test receive a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

In California, persons who are 18 years of age or older may take the GED test.

Some 17-year-olds who meet specific criteria for testing may also take the test.

What are the requirements for a GED?

Who’s Eligible to Take the GED Test, HiSET exam, or TASC Test?

  • You aren’t currently enrolled in high school;
  • You haven’t graduated from high school;
  • You are at least 18 years old or older.
  • You meet local requirements regarding age, residency, preparation, and the length of time since leaving school.

Can I get my GED at 16 in California?

The state offers two options, the HiSET exam and the GED test. Applicants ages 16 and 17 can also take the GED or HiSET exam if they have a permission form from their school district as well as consent from a parent or legal guardian.

How do I get my GED for free online?

Students can take our online test prep courses and prepare for the GED ® HiSET® or TASC® test, which exams, are taken in person at a State testing facility. The official GED ® test cannot be taken online. ONLY the high school diploma can be completed online.

What is a passing score on the GED in California?

What is a Passing Score on the GED? Each GED subject test is scored on a scale of 100-200 points. To pass the GED, you must earn at least 145 on each of the four subject tests, for a total of at least 580 points (out of a possible 800).

How fast can I get my GED?

The GED credential is widely accepted as the equivalent of a high school diploma, and can help one pursue higher education or career advancement. To receive a GED, a student must take the GED test, a four-section exam that, in its entirety, takes approximately 7.5 hours to complete.

How much does it cost to take the GED?

How much does the GED cost? The short answer: It depends on where you take the test, but in most cases, the total for all four GED subtests ranges between $80-$150. The longer answer: Different states (or other jurisdictions if you’re an international or military test taker) charge different fees.

What do you need to know to pass the GED?

Passing the Test. The GED test is made up of five smaller tests designed to analyze an individual’s skills in reading, writing, social studies, math, and science—all the areas required of any high school graduate. The bulk of the tests are multiple choice, with a short essay required of the writing test, of course.

Photo in the article by “Flickr”