Quick Answer: What’s The Difference Between A Star Smog Check And Test Only??

STAR stations are Smog Check stations that meet higher performance standards established by the Bureau of Automotive Repair.

Some STAR stations are licensed to perform only tests, while others are licensed to perform both tests and repairs.

The station is required to post a sign on the services it performs.

What is checked in CA smog test?

Specific Test Order: The State of California requires smog stations to test vehicles in the specific order listed above. The first inspection (emissions inspection) is performed by the exhaust gas analyzer “smog machine”.

How often do you need a smog test in California?

Most vehicles in California are required to pass a Smog Check every two years for registration renewal. Your DMV Registration Renewal Notice will indicate if your vehicle needs a Smog Check. You may take your vehicle to any Smog Check station, unless it requires a Smog Check at a STAR station.

What counties in California do not require smog checks?

There are also counties in California that only require smog inspections within certain designated zip codes for vehicle owners living in the following six counties:

  • Sonoma.
  • San Bernardino.
  • El Dorado.
  • San Diego.
  • Placer.
  • Riverside.