Quick Answer: At What Age Can You Donate Blood In California??

Donors must: be at least 17 years of age (16-olds may donate blood with a parent/guardian’s consent).

California law requires anyone under the age of 17 to have a parent’s or legal guardian’s permission to donate when their donation will be screened with an investigational (research) test.

Can you donate blood at age 15?

In some states you can donate as a 16 year old, but you have to be 17 years old in most states. That being said, conduct research on your state law regarding the donation of blood. The only fact I know about donating blood is that you have to be 16 years old, with parental consent, in New York to donate blood.28 Apr 2017

Can a 17 year old donate blood?

To donate blood, the American Red Cross requires that people be at least 17 years old and weigh more than 110 pounds. (In some states, the age is 16 with a parent’s permission.) Donors must be in good health and will be screened for certain medical conditions, such as anemia.

Why do you have to be 16 to give blood?

The Blood Connection is required by law to collect parental consent forms from all 16 year old donors. Someone needs a blood transfusion every two seconds. One unit of blood can help save up to three lives. Giving blood is a good thing to do for your community.

Do you have to know your blood type to give blood?

Healthcare professionals sometimes need to know a person’s blood group for medical reasons. If you need a blood transfusion, the blood group you receive must be compatible with your own blood group. Healthcare professionals will also check a person’s blood group before they: give blood.

How much do you have to weigh to give blood at 5 4?

Be at least 5′ 4″ tall and weigh at least 110 pounds.

Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons” https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:US_Navy_090217-N-4973M-043_ailors_assigned_to_Amphibious_Construction_Battalion_(ACB)_1_donate_blood_to_the_Armed_Services_Blood_Program_at_Naval_Amphibious_Base_Coronado,_Calif.jpg