Quick Answer: Are Landlords Required To Provide Fire Extinguishers In California??

Smoke detectors are mandatory in all properties in the state, and landlords are obligated to provide their tenants with functioning detectors in both commercial and residential buildings.

According to SFGate.com, California law is rather strict when it comes to the presence of smoke detectors within properties.

Where can I recycle a fire extinguisher?

Fire extinguishers cannot be put into your household recycling bin; however you can take them to larger household waste recycling centres for disposal. Fire extinguishers are classified as hazardous waste and need to be disposed of carefully.

How often do fire extinguishers need to be inspected in California?

For optimum service, fire extinguishers require hydrostatic testing every 5 to 12 years by a trained person with suitable testing equipment and facilities. The annual service and periodic testing must be documented on the fire extinguisher service tag.

What happens if you use an expired fire extinguisher?

Simply put, you should not use an expired fire extinguisher. However, with proper care and maintenance, your fire extinguisher should be able to last 10 – 12 years. The experts at Confires can help you determine if your fire extinguisher is still safe and reliable to use by performing a hydro-test.

Photo in the article by “Naval History and Heritage Command – Navy.mil” https://www.history.navy.mil/research/library/online-reading-room/title-list-alphabetically/p/pearl-harbor-why-how.html