If you’ve ever wondered “do you need a license or certification to be a budtender?” you should know that the short answer (at least for now) is no.
We don’t yet have a national licensing standard for budtenders, as the herb’s illegal status at the federal level still imposes many limitations on the cannabis industry.
How old do you have to be to work at a dispensary in California?
21 years of age
How do you get a job at a dispensary?
If you’re interested in becoming a budtender, the following steps should help improve your chances of getting hired by a dispensary:
- Step 1: Know the Products.
- Step 2: Stay on Top of New Trends.
- Step 3: Become a Great Short Storyteller.
- Step 4: Be Careful When Choosing Budtender Certification Programs For Now.
How much does it cost to start a dispensary in California?
In California, you’ll pay $1,000 to apply for a dispensary license, and if approved, you’ll pay a licensing fee between $4,000 and $120,000, depending on the estimated value of your operation. You’ll also need to factor in real estate, which can cost between $50,000- $100,000 annually, as well as other startup costs.
How much do dispensary owners make?
Cannabis job salaries are sometimes topped off by dispensary owners. In some instances, cannabis dispensary owners earn well over $1 million annually. For example, Harborside Medical dispensary in San Jose, California reportedly does over $20 million in annual sales.
Do you need a medical card to work at a dispensary?
To qualify in most states and countries, you must have NO felony convictions on your record. You do not need to be a medical marijuana cardholder to apply for cannabis jobs. If you are interested in working in a Dispensary, check out our Dispensary Agent Training.
Can you bring your child into a dispensary?
Sorry, but minors under 18 are not allowed inside any part of a dispensary where marijuana is present, even if they are patients or employees. Recreational sales are only for those 21 and over.
How much does it cost to start a grow op?
However, the actual startup costs also end up varying based on a number of factors. Outdoor and combination methods of cultivation tend to cost between $10 and $17 per square foot, and greenhouse grow setups average at $50 per square foot.
How much does it cost to start a dispensary in Oklahoma?
Contact GRC to discuss your unique circumstances and the capitalization required. A $2500 non-refundable fee to the state will be required to apply for dispensary, cultivation, or processing licenses. A $50,000 surety bond is required when submitting license application to the state, among other requirements.
Photo in the article by “Flickr”