Specific Test Order: The State of California requires smog stations to test vehicles in the specific order listed above.
The first inspection (emissions inspection) is performed by the exhaust gas analyzer “smog machine”.
How many miles do you have to drive to pass smog?
You will be required to drive between 100-200 miles and over the course of a week, called a Drive Cycle, in order to “complete” the emission monitors and be allowed to pass the smog check.
Can you pass smog test with check engine light on?
During your drive, maybe even as soon as you start the engine, your vehicle realizes an emissions fault, and turns on the Check Engine or Service Engine Soon light. No check engine light, but no chance of passing the emissions test either. However, you will not know this until your vehicle is smog tested.
How old does a car have to be to not be smogged in California?
30 years old
What happens if you fail a smog test?
After You Fail the Emissions Test. If your vehicle fails to pass, the DMV will not register your vehicle, meaning you can’t get a license plate to legally drive the car.
What cars need smog in California?
However, you may want to know just when a smog check is required. In California, all vehicles are required to have a smog car registration inspection, except the following: diesel powered, electric, natural gas powered vehicles over 14,000 lbs., hybrids, motorcycles, trailers, or vehicles older than 1975.
How often do you need a smog test in California?
Most vehicles in California are required to pass a Smog Check every two years for registration renewal. Your DMV Registration Renewal Notice will indicate if your vehicle needs a Smog Check. You may take your vehicle to any Smog Check station, unless it requires a Smog Check at a STAR station.
Will car pass smog with airbag light on in California?
Answer: A vehicle’s air bag system is not tested during the smog check, and will not effect smog check results unless the fault causing the air bag light to illuminate is some how emissions related. Answer: It sounds like it is in fact the Check Engine light, and will cause a smog check failure.
What counties in California do not require smog?
There are also counties in California that only require smog inspections within certain designated zip codes for vehicle owners living in the following six counties:
- San Bernardino.
- El Dorado.
- San Diego.
Will California change smog laws?
Some of the new California laws include gender identity on drivers licenses, new fees related to smog checks and rule changes for motorized scooters. The new laws take effect on January 1, 2019. During the additional two years, the vehicles will pay an annual $25 smog abatement fee.
Photo in the article by “JPL – NASA”