Quick Answer: What Is A Lien Sale On A Vehicle??

A lien sale vehicle is a vehicle that was towed either by a law enforcement agency or private property owner, and the registered/legal owner failed to pay for the towing and/or storage.

Or an abandoned vehicle left on someone’s property or maybe left at a garage/shop and never picked up.

What is a lien title in California?

Any person/lienholder in possession of a vehicle, who has a lien against the vehicle for services rendered, who does not have a monetary interest in the vehicle and has authorization from DMV.

How long does a lien sale take?

How Long does it take to complete a lien sale? Vehicles “under” $4000 and boat under $1500, approximately 35 days. Vehicles “over” $4000 and boat over $1500, usually 90 to 120 days.

How do I put a lien on a vehicle?

A lien holder can be an individual or an organization to which the applicant owes money. The title of the car will be held by the holder until the debt is paid in full. When placing a lien on a car, notify the titleholder. To put a lien on a car, follow specific steps.

How much does a lien sale cost?

Before conducting a lien sale, the lienholder must determine the value of the vehicle. If the vehicle’s value is greater than $4,000, see the brochure HTVR 8, “How To: Conduct a Lien Sale for a Vehicle Stored at a Self-Service Storage Facility or Valued Over $4,000.”

What is a Certification of Lien Sale?

A tax lien certificate is a certificate of claim against a property that has a lien placed upon it as a result of unpaid property taxes. Tax lien certificates are generally sold to investors through an auction process.

Photo in the article by “Wikimedia Commons” https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:PEV_sales_US_California_2010_2014.png