Here are ten steps to take to get started right away.
- Step 1: Select your entity type and business name.
- Step 2: Register with the California Secretary of State.
- Step 3: Register a Fictitious Business Name (If Necessary)
- Step 4: Get Your Local Permits and Licenses.
Are collectives legal in California?
“Collectives must serve only verified legal patients, and distribute only to their own members”. California state law explicitly allows distribution of medical marijuana through non-profit “collectives” or “cooperatives.”
How much money does it take to start a dispensary?
The capital needed to start the process of opening a dispensary varies by state, but it’s never a small number. In Arizona, for example, you need to have at least $150,000 in startup capital if you don’t want your application to be rejected, while Nevada requires that you have $250,000 at the ready before you begin.
Does Prop 215 still exist?
Although Prop. 215 allows patients to grow their own medicine, landlords are not legally obliged to allow it. Many cities and counties have passed zoning ordinances that restrict where patients can grow, in some cases outlawing cultivation altogether.
What does Prop 215 allow?
It exempts patients and defined caregivers who possess or cultivate marijuana for medical treatment recommended by a physician from criminal laws which otherwise prohibit possession or cultivation of marijuana. Because of Proposition 215, California is one of the fourteen states that allow marijuana for medical uses.
Is Prop 215 over?
The ground-breaking Proposition 215 was passed in 1996, which allowed for not-for-profit organizations to grow for the purposes of medical marijuana. Now that legal framework is changing, in order to expand and include recreational cannabis, and profit-seeking organizations.
Photo in the article by “Wikipedia”