The California Employment Development Department (EDD) determines your weekly benefit amount by dividing your earnings for the highest paid quarter of the base period by 26, up to a maximum of $450 per week.
Benefits are available for up to 26 weeks.
How do I calculate my unemployment benefits in California?
The weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the sum of the wages earned during the highest quarter of the base period by 26, rounded down to the next lower whole dollar.
Can you get unemployment if you quit in California?
If you quit your job voluntarily, without good cause, you won’t be eligible for unemployment benefits. Each state sets its own eligibility standards for unemployment, including what constitutes “good cause” to quit.
How long do you have to work to get unemployment in CA?
You don’t need to have worked for any specific length of time, but you must have earned sufficient wages during a predetermined base period to qualify for a claim. Generally, this means you must have started earning wages at least three months before you file for unemployment.
How long can I collect unemployment?
Under normal times, an individual can collect unemployment benefits for a maximum of 26 weeks. But after the recession, Congress passed the emergency benefit program to extend that duration to 73 weeks, although the exact length varied by state.
How can I collect unemployment in California?
You must meet three eligibility requirements to collect unemployment benefits in California:
- Your past earnings must meet certain minimum thresholds.
- You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, as defined by California law.
- You must be able, available, and actively seeking work.
How can I calculate how much unemployment I will get?
To estimate how much you might be eligible to receive, add together the gross wages in the two highest quarters during that period, divide by 2, and then multiply by 0.0385 to get your weekly benefit amount.
How do I calculate my unemployment benefits?
Divide the amount earned during this quarter by 13, which is the number of weeks in a calendar quarter. The state determines the percentage of that wage that will be replaced. The weekly wage is divided and the weekly benefit is calculated based on the weekly wage.
Photo in the article by “Flickr”