There is no law that requires landlords to prorate rent when a tenant moves in or vacates a unit.
Often, landlords will prorate tenants’ first days or weeks in the unit in order to collect full rent on the first of the following month.
Be sure to do so or the landlord may charge you the following month.
Should first month rent be prorated?
If an apartment you wish to rent will be ready before the first of the month, you and your landlord may agree to start your lease earlier. This partial portion due for the first month of the lease is known prorated rent, because it’s calculated as a percentage of the normal full month’s rent.
Do landlords have to prorate rent California?
Tenants often move into rental units on any other day of the month other than the first. Although landlords aren’t required to prorate the month’s rent in California, it’s common practice to charge only for the number of days the tenant will live in the home.
What can a landlord deduct from a security deposit for cleaning and repairs?
Landlords are permitted to deduct from security deposits for damage or excessive filth, but not for ordinary wear and tear. Typically, landlords may charge tenants for any cleaning or repairs necessary to restore the rental unit to its condition at the beginning of the tenancy.
Is prorated rent based on 30 days?
Answer: Even though February 2007 has only 28 days, the calculation to determine prorated rent is the same as if there were 29, 30 or 31 days. Prorated rent is used for tenants who will not be occupying a property for a full month and are responsible for partial rent.
Is rent prorated when moving in?
Prorated rent is applicable when a tenant is moving in or out in the middle of the month. As a landlord, you want your tenant to move in as early as possible to avoid a vacancy. As a result, rent may need to be prorated so the price accurately reflects the number of days the tenant lives in the property.
Photo in the article by “Flickr”