1. Collect your paperwork
- Locate your car’s title. This is also called a pink slip; it gives you the legal right to sell the car.
- Check with your lender. If you still owe money on your vehicle’s loan, call the lender to find out how to arrange the sale.
- Visit the DMV online.
- Order a vehicle history report.
Do I need to smog my car before selling it in California?
Your first step as the seller is to have the car inspected, as it is required to sell the car with a valid California Smog Certificate,which is good for 90 days from the date on the document.
Do I need to notify DMV if I sold my car?
Am I required to notify DMV when I sell or transfer my vehicle to another owner? Yes. You are required by law to notify DMV within five calendar days from the date you sell or transfer title or interest in and deliver possession of a vehicle to another owner (Vehicle Code §5900).
What I need to sell my car in California?
To sell your car in California, you’ll need to have the following documentation: Title (you’ll need to sign this and give it to the new owner) Odometer reading (if car is less than 10 years old) Bill of sale (good to have in case of a dispute)
What is the best way to sell a car privately?
The 5 Best Ways To Sell Your Car (In Terms of Ease, Value, And Convenience)
- First, get the value of your car.
- Option #1: Trade it in for your new car.
- Option #2: Sell it to an outside dealer.
- Option #3: Sell it to CarMax.
- Option #4: Sell to a private party.
- Option #5: Take a shot on the “We Buy Cars For Cash” offerings.
What’s the best way to sell a car?
The 6 Best Ways to Sell Your Car
- Sell It Privately. Selling a car on your own will ensure you get the most money for it.
- Sell It to a Dealership. Once you visit the dealership, you will receive an appraisal of the value of your vehicle.
- Sell It to CarMax.
- Take Advantage of Autotrader.
- Have the Vehicle Picked Up.
- Trade It In.